Author Topic: Parts of Planetdance do not work after update  (Read 150 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Alex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • No fences please!
    • View Profile
Parts of Planetdance do not work after update
« on: January 10, 2023, 03:06:15 PM »
Hi there,

After an update (I tried several since 9-1-23; Windows 10 21H2, i7, 16GB RAM) I receive messages as 'Runtime error', 'Access violation at address' when trying to run Options, Transits and Solar Arc Progressions. Old version from 2019 worked fine. For hours I tried to fix it. Several installations (both x64 and x86), restarts, DISM, SFC, DLL (I found DLL's in the directory of Planetdance. Are they not meant for /system32) registry and so on. Any suggestions what might work?

Thanks in advance for your help!  :)

Jean

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
    • View Profile
Re: Parts of Planetdance do not work after update
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2023, 04:16:56 PM »
Planetdance is only x86, and the dll's are fine.
But there's obviously something that messes things up there. By the way you sound, i'm not very optimistic about your pc, maybe there's memory faulty or something, but i don't get reports from others telling that everything gives errors.

What you can do is be precise, tell me exactly which module gives a runtime error and on what line, that might give me a clue but as said, i'm not optimistic, i've seen bad pc's before and this just smells like one.

my advice: try another pc.
Greetings from Groningen Netherlands <)))><.`.><(((>

Alex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • No fences please!
    • View Profile
Re: Parts of Planetdance do not work after update
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2023, 10:29:02 PM »
Thanks Jean for your answer.

I followed your advice and tried another laptop. Alas, this contemporary one which runs on Windows 11 responds even worse on commands.

1st laptop: 'Access violation at address 00454A02 in module 'pd.exe'. Write of address DB10FAF6'. Planetdance opens with an empty screen.
2nd laptop: 'Access violation at address 00424242 in module 'pd.exe'. Write of address 036CA439'. (The addresses change all the time, so it looks like desinformation.) Planetdance opens with an empty screen.
I can open a horoscope without a problem.
When changing house system (Carter Poli-Equatorial to Mc equal houses) under Options > Settings: '(Does not respond)' or 'Runtime Error Line 1278'. The change is not saved.
When starting Transits, Solar Arc, Secondary Progressions '(Does not respond)'.
Both laptops respond the same way and function completely normal outside Planetdance.

Bad luck, I think. Thanks anyway for the many years the program did work fine. Thanks anyway for the many years the program did work fine. Despite this setback, it still has no equal.

Jean

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
    • View Profile
Re: Parts of Planetdance do not work after update
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2023, 11:22:06 PM »
Thanks Jean for your answer.

I followed your advice and tried another laptop.
Bad luck, I think.

I don't have an explanation for this. It works for almost everybody else. If i can help, let me know.
Greetings from Groningen Netherlands <)))><.`.><(((>

Jean

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
    • View Profile
Re: Parts of Planetdance do not work after update
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2023, 07:48:46 AM »
If pd crashes just when starting up and giving an empty screen, there's a log file at c:\planetdance\log.txt, please send to jean@jcremers.com
Greetings from Groningen Netherlands <)))><.`.><(((>

Alex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • No fences please!
    • View Profile
Re: Parts of Planetdance do not work after update
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2023, 11:12:08 AM »
Thanks again Jean,

Your last remark is very useful. As I said, the old version from 2019 worked fine. You told that it is all x86, but the old version worked perfectly well under 'C:\Program Files\Planetdance', though one may expect better under 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Planetdance'. The recent version I tried (one after another of course) under both directories and, though there are some differences, both with the problems mentioned. One of the differences is the the log file. Under C:\Program Files\Planetdance there is a log file with 4 lines, under C:\Program Files (x86)\Planetdance there is no log file!

Now I tried C:\Planetdance and this installation is nearly perfect. Everything works smoothly and very fast except for changing the house system to Mc equal houses under Options > Settings. The system still responds with an 'Runtime Error Line 1278'. The change is not saved.

I will send you the log file.

Jean

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
    • View Profile
Re: Parts of Planetdance do not work after update
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2023, 12:03:19 PM »
Very glad to hear most is solved, you should indeed not install planetdance to c:\program files, it has not enough rights there.
I replied to your email so we can close this topic for now.
Greetings from Groningen Netherlands <)))><.`.><(((>