Author Topic: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart  (Read 920 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

millibon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« on: April 13, 2023, 09:23:55 PM »
Hi, when I launch the program the message "list index out of bound (1)" appears, how can I fix it? When I open the medieval horoscope the graph does not appear in full either on screen or in print. I tried to install again but it does not help. Thanks to whoever can help me.

Jean

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2023, 08:16:28 AM »
About the out of bound, can you try renaming c:\planetdance\pd.ini to something else, then restart planetdance? You have to enter default place / timeformat again.
About the full screen, are you using a laptop with a small display? Try to see if in windows display settings (right click desktop) the size settings are 100% and not 150% or something.
Greetings from Groningen Netherlands <)))><.`.><(((>

millibon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2023, 03:22:57 PM »
 :)-"About the full screen, are you using a laptop with a small display? Try to see if in windows display settings (right click desktop) the size settings are 100% and not 150% or something."- [/color]
 :) :)I use PC at home, screen ok.
 :(-"About the out of bound, can you try renaming c:\planetdance\pd.ini to something else, then restart planetdance? You have to enter default place / timeformat again."-
 :( :(I don't know how to do it

millibon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2023, 03:32:53 PM »
With the normal graph, in settings, I can move up/down large/small, the medieval graph responds from the menu not from the settings, it remains very large outside the screen

Jean

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2023, 04:09:32 PM »
please post screenshots.
You can try File - reset for the out of bounds.
Greetings from Groningen Netherlands <)))><.`.><(((>

millibon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2023, 09:58:54 PM »
Hurray! opening problem solved
I attach photos for the problem with the medieval card


ABer

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2023, 07:57:29 AM »
Hi Millibon - unfortunately this seems to be due to your screen resolution. Many of these modules are very intensive in the amount of information they display on the screen. I design them on a 1920 x 1080 monitor, but try to make them fit on a standard laptop screen which seems to be around 1368 x 768 or so. However, in some cases the compromises that are needed to compress the visual output lead to these sorts of situations.

As I do updates for the modules I try to improve the visual element of the display but it's time consuming and detailed work. See shots below on my larger monitor which I use on my desktop.

Best wishes. Ed

Jean

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2023, 08:14:54 AM »
but judging by that first pic, it's indeed a 1920x1080 monitor. I don't understand why the other 2 pics are wrong, it seems it's 1368x768 there. Maybe some gpu glitch?
Millibon try Application - Run - Monitor Test and post a screenshot here.
Greetings from Groningen Netherlands <)))><.`.><(((>

ABer

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2023, 08:23:00 AM »
Thanks Jean - I didn't notice the first screenshot. Quite strange as you say. Ed

millibon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2023, 12:16:47 PM »
screen resolution i use pc board 1280x1024 100%
It was fine at first after an update, can't remember when, it became like this.
I did these tests, I attach photos
Thank you!

Jean

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2023, 12:25:21 PM »
1280x1024 is too small for some modules, sorry. Like Ed said, 1920x1080 is what we mostly write for, it's also most common.
Greetings from Groningen Netherlands <)))><.`.><(((>

ABer

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2023, 01:07:13 PM »
Hi there - this resolution seems to be quite an old standard.

5:4 (1.25:1)    12801024    Common until the early 2000s.

See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_aspect_ratio

A more modern standard is:

16:9 (1.78:1)    1366768, 19201080    The default aspect ratio for HDTV and modern computer displays.

I think the issue is that your aspect ratio is almost square (5:4 = 15:12), whereas Planetdance is designed for 16:9.

This would explain why your display is squashed horizontally. I think your only option is to see if you can alter the resolution of your graphics output to the more modern standard, or see if you can get a graphics card that will produce the required aspect ratio, preferably in 1920 x 1080. Note that you may also need to update your monitor.

I use a dual monitor set up - the image above is on the 1920 x 1080 screen. The attachment below is on the second monitor, which has the 1280 x 1024, and you will see the same issue as your screen. Unfortunately, given the resources we have available to maintain Planetdance, we cannot code for every possibility.

Ed

millibon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2023, 02:07:38 PM »
maybe i have to buy new monitor :) ;D
Thank you!

ABer

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #13 on: April 15, 2023, 02:11:21 PM »
Hi Millibon - I think that's the easiest option!

 ;)

Ed

Jean

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
    • View Profile
Re: Opening Planetdance and medieval chart
« Reply #14 on: April 15, 2023, 05:04:27 PM »
Myself i use 2560x1440, love the extra space.
Greetings from Groningen Netherlands <)))><.`.><(((>